remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2010-08-18

plans

I want to get really engrossed in this and swept away in it, so that I don't have to actively disregard any extraneous, distracting thoughts, so that those naturally fade out of prominence in my mind. This is what I am here to do, this is what I want, and I hope to dedicate these two years to it. It is such a concrete and straightforward period in my life: I am here for this whole year and then the next, to do research full-time, and gain as much exposure, insight, and expertise into the field as I can, by immersing myself in it and actively engaging with all of the available resources (people, technology, the luxury of getting paid to devote my time for this very purpose). I know I can't put life on hold, that I still have to challenge myself to grow emotionally as well and open up to people and form meaningful relationships here, but my focus just seems so clear.
When I leave here, I'll be 24. And a half. Where do I want to be in my life at that point? What responsibilities do I want to have, what do I envision? I'll be basically halfway through my twenties. What do I hope to accomplish? Plans often don't work out, and you can't anticipate anything. I just need to remind myself, that all I can do is take care of myself, work hard, and be optimistic.

leesah-likes at 10:58 p.m.

previous | next