remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2010-09-20

hear this

My ears have been plugged for the past couple weeks. A cold and sinus infection, coupled with the changing air pressure when I flew here last month, has left me congested and unable to hear well. It was just fine enough that it wasn�t completely debilitating or noticeable to others, but just bad enough where I would miss around 30% of the things people would say, and everything that I could hear sounded very muffled, all the time. But, as luck and medicine would have it, the right one unplugged spontaneously yesterday, the left one today. My hearing is now completely recovered, and every sound is music to my ears. The friction of my sandal sole as I scoot my foot forward on the carpet, the melodious clicking of these keys. It is all now so lucid, and I relish in every sound. This is a new, unexpectedly inspiring experience for me. I am adept at savoring the final flavors of exquisite food, and clinging to precious tactile memories (even if only abstractly in my mind), desperately whiffing in a delectable fragrance, or delightfully fixing my eyes over a transcendently beautiful painting. I joyfully and gratefully receive each morsel of these sensory experiences. And I admittedly have always appreciated good music, but mostly for its melody, rhythm, and artistic expression. But this feeling (ah! The sound of someone�s keys in the distance, they jingle like a wind chime!) is entirely different. Maybe it is because I have been deprived for so long�is that the key to the most palpable gratitude and substantial sensory ecstasy, to finally experience something after waiting for it at long last? To valiantly win the enduring battle against your own impatience? It feels so incredibly good to get that final release after an extended, built up period of delay� is this sort of experience, in some ways, orgasmic? Ok, maybe it�s not that extreme. But it is powerful, and I do wonder how long this heightened sensation (or at least my heightened appreciation of it) will last before it attenuates back to normal levels. It can�t take too long, I imagine. You can�t (despite my best efforts, so I truly know this) savor in each sensory experience, can�t fully take in all that you see/taste/smell etc. You just have to focus on those that really stick with you, and go with it. But that sound as I itch the back of my neck right now, it sounds so right, and I feel that I had missed it. I�m in the library. I�m listening to people turn their books� pages. It sounds just great.

leesah-likes at 1:10 a.m.

previous | next