remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2010-08-03

are

No matter how inadequate or incompetent or unappealing I feel, I am determined to always always always love and approve of myself.

You are good, you are trying, even if sometimes you don't meet other people's standards, you will meet your own, by virtue of your existence and intrinsic effort, because you are you and you are me, and you are doing what you can, and that is all I will ever ask of you, and I will cherish and take pride in whatever that accomplishment may be. I am sorry for judging and criticizing you, it's only because I want you to be really good, but what I've been failing to realize is that thinking of you in those terms is completely orthogonal and irrelevant to the REAL and TRUE terms by which to think of you: not that you are right or wrong, but simply that you ARE. There is no empirical correctness, no objective answer or evaluation of your performance. You, just, ARE. So be. And I will (try to) let you be.

leesah-likes at 10:46 p.m.

previous | next