remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2007-06-27

seventeenseventysix

1776 appeared to me twice today, notably.
When the albino at the place where I don't work was reciting his cell phone number to his boss, there it was, the four last digits. I don't know why I picked up on it, but something about me being conscientious about America's first year of being.
Then again as I purchased a cheese motif of swiss, colby-jack, and cheddar, at the cafeteria, my change back from a crisp twenty.
I don't know why I remember, and I know that twice probably isn't enough to make it notable in the minds of others.
But it reminds me of all the subtle, intricate webs that weave coherence into our lives. A little coincidence, a little seemingly orderly commonalities and comforting connections, all they ever do is give anyone a little more sanity.
The slight likenesses we pick up on, we bind them in our minds to let our own personal worlds be a perfectly smooth sphere, like each planet.
Tomorrow may see another common number, name, or whatever highlighted notion I chose to recognize and relate. Something to trick myself into thinking that this world is tangible, that there is some orderly grasp of it for me to comprehend. Even if there's not.

leesah-likes at 11:15 p.m.

previous | next