remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2007-07-05

solitary

My moments alone
I am by myself.
And what a weird way to phrase it
Considering that �by� means �next to.�
And I tell the waitress, �No, it�s just me.�
And I stand in line by myself. I ride the bus, alone.
There is no one to wait for, to depend upon, to seek out.
I set the pace of walking
And the conversation of my mind
As I am most agreeable with myself.
I see things my way; I am not influenced.
Sometimes I catch sense of something a little funny
But I don�t outright laugh; that seems foolish,
Instead I grin to myself.
But if you were here
Maybe we would chortle at it together.
Instead I run.
I am left to the solace of my legs pounding,
Consumed by my lungs burning.
That pain is abrupt. It is my muscles crying
Under the powerful strain.
The sensation is more tangible
Than the traces of longing I feel
Being at a loss of your company.
I have my books, I have my gazes upon the coast.
Phonecalls. Emails. Brief, insufficient hellos.
I am here, I am okay, I am independent.
I am alone.

leesah-likes at 11:15 p.m.

previous | next