remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2007-02-07

investing sense

Emotional investment is a tricky thing. How much do you have to endow in order to reap maximum benefits? Putting in more than necessary is never good- only adequate feeling is wanted. But putting in not enough can make the reward elude you, and who wants that?
Like the stock market, it is a risk. One has to be fiscal, yet daring and strategic. It is an exhausting business. The profit is more vibrant and precarious than stagnant bills, and more is at risk than just a wallet's thickness. There are so many important parallels, but can one be as calculating with hearts as they can be with dollars? If and when I chose to withdraw my funding, is it as easy? Part of me wants it to be, because then no one would get hurt. But so woefully unlike economics, the realms of promise, hope, and affection are not drawn in black and white. One can be left in limbo- not wanting to abandon their investment, yet reluctant to add more funds when there are (as there always are) other opportunities, and when the current endowment shows minimal growth and potential. How much value do I myself hold in the eyes of others, anyway? Is my worth inflated?
I know this is less than eloquent, and that it didn't get me very far. I'm going through a mental wash in dealing with the turmoil of clashing nonchalance with giddiness. I think I just need to take a shower and wash all this residue away.

leesah-likes at 9:21 p.m.

previous | next