remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2006-09-03

quench

Relax and stand in the
warmth of the sand
the day is long
and here for us to take for granted.
We find ourselves to our knees
Water clear, a tender breeze upon our faces
as we bask in our good graces
Yeah, we all are golden here.
And summer, and summer,
where night belongs to lust and lovers.
And summer, and summer,
and I am here to win you over-
You will be mine this year.
The sun is set and the
moon is high,
The night is long
and here for you and I to capture (it's for us)
And flood ourselves to the gills
with icey drinks with bolstering wills
and we are braver for the moment
Yeah, we all are golden here,
And summer, and summer,
where all the girls bare olive shoulders,
and summer, and summer,
and I am here to win you over.
You will be mine this year.
The courtyard where the garden stands,
Behind the beach, in crystal and sands,
we shed our clothes,
And felt romantic, tinted by the moon fantastic.
Bright and warm,
and hours alone absolve us of the sins we own.
And from one year into another
I think of you when I feel summer.

I've been telling myself within the passing week that I want to quench these last days of summer, these last days of home. Only most recently have I started to think of what that really means. Quench. It has many meanings.
To slake, satisfy, or allay.
To put out or extinguish.
To cool suddenly by plunging into a liquid.
To subdue, or overcome.
I intended all of them in a way, and I've experienced each one as well. And now I'm left with this slightly hollow yet warm feeling inside. Every time I embrace Petie, I feel us nudging a little closer to the last time. And I don't mean to and I don't look for it, but it is there.
And my walls are bare and blank. And nostalgia ebbs and flows.

....And someone is calling my name
From the back of the restaurant
And someone is playing a game
In the house that I grew up in
And someone will drive her around
Down the same streets that I did...

I want to believe in so much. I want to heed Julian's words about abandoning all cynicism and seeking all beauty, because you shall surely find it if you look. Just to be so open. I want to metaphorically always have my arms stretched out to the sky, to everything. I'm here and I'm ready and willing to give and receive in lots of wondermous combinations.
It's hard to feel this overwhelming fantasically open and eager with all of the reminding pangs of what I'm leaving and all that has already left. All these souls, I love them all. If only you really knew how much I love you. And I really truly think that I always will.
Tomorrow we take to the road and let the tires touch a thousand miles eastward. With each passing scene, I am drawing farther from you, home, and closer to this new place that's already viewed through ever-developing hopes and dreams. Our drive will help me comprehend the distance.
I'm trying to get it all, but I can only really process my pedaling faster, speaking under stars, and blurs of grinning faces. I need time; I need a repose. Maybe the road can give me that.
I want to say so much, and I'll find some near-accurate words eventually.
But for now, I'll just keep smiling like I mean it, because I do.

leesah-likes at 8:25 p.m.

previous | next