remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2006-08-29

birds in flight

I pulled off to the railroad tracks and looked to the west. In this silent sunset, swirling white clouds were sweeping from the mountain edges. They looked like doves being released from the horizon. I could see their wings, spanned in flight, and their heads raising to the view.
There were at least four of them stretched across, massive and illuminated by the lucid blue backdrop.
It was so beautiful that I wanted to cry, to cry for so many reasons. To cry for absense and shed tears for change, to try to register what everything means and appreciate it and live it so truly. I wanted to share it with someone, but I knew it was good enough by myself.
But if only you could have seen it. It was so wonderful. These birds, so clear, like some beckoning or sign, raising to cover the western sky. I felt that heaven comes not from above, but from the receeding place just beyond where I can see. It tugged at me inside as I watched them linger in the air.
They spread their wings, they open, and they go.
Just like you. Just like everyone.

leesah-likes at 12:09 a.m.

previous | next