remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2005-07-20

it's my journal and i'll smile if i want to..

..smile if i want to, smile if i want to, you would smile too if....

Leesah...!



Slipping Seconds
I cannot keep track of it
So inconsistent
Like the speeds of a beginning driver
Slow as a snail then fast like a blur
Sometimes I just watch it pass by
Clouds shift and move across the sky
Dates slip off the calendar page
Weeks go by as I grow and age.
I wonder if I am supposed to change
Control emotions; youthful worries and rage
Maybe I'll get stuck like this
Because of all the time that I miss.
Life is a complicated board game
Where all competitors don't play the same
Some luck, some skill;
Competitiveness, ambition, wit, and will
But then when the game is done,
Who has lost and who has won?
The seconds are slipping away even now
And I sit here and wonder how
To end this poem with a sufficient rhyme
But all I can think of is the escaping time.

leesah-likes at 11:42 p.m.

previous | next