remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2005-07-20

hair behavior

joie de vi�vre (zhw� d vvr)
n.
Hearty or carefree enjoyment of life.
[French : joie, joy + de, of + vivre, to live, living.]

Sean was driving by the place where I worked, and he noticed my car parked there. He drove all the way around to stop by, even though he needed to be home. He ordered a nondairy product because he is lactose intolerant. It started to get busy, as it always does when my friends come in to visit. He sent a message through Adam for me to look at the moon.
I spotted it out the window, to the west. It was big and beautiful with an antique yellow tinge. Yes, the moon is antiquated. It is old. The moon has seen many moons, taha. In an attempt to personify it, I would even venture insofar (hey I love three-in-one word combos like that, that one right there is almost as good as "nonetheless.") as to deem the moon wise and surreptitious. it knows, and yes, probably in some unearthly (tehe), ominous way. It knows secrets, the enigma is self-contained. Don't ask, it won't tell. Plus, if you do ask, and someone finds out, they will think you a poetic flake. Writing about it like this is bad enough. But no worries, the rope has not been picked up.
Yup, no worries. I got frustrated today, but it was good. Dan would grin, Julian would give me a thumb's up, Petie would encourage. Jarrett drove by every time I couldn't get up on the wakeboard and told me what do work on for the next time. The sky was vast and really blue, the way I remember Lena Petersen's eyes. The sun would crouch itself behind the few clouds like a naked person hiding behind bushes! Sorry, I thought that was a fun simile. smile. I like the freckles on Petie's nose!!!
It was good to talk to her (different her than the ones mentioned directly above this). I had been minimally annoyed by her all day, due to my own bias involving myself and just because she can flat out act unlike ways of people that i most like being around. She made sense a little more after I bared through a one-on-one conversation with her and actually found myself enjoying it. She is peculiar- flirty in practice yet prude in ideology. I felt good about it. Ok, maybe a little self-gratified, but good. It was as though I defeated my coldness to her. I know I will still find her irritating. But I'm closer to fine with it now.
It is good to be able to visualize things implemented into the current withstanding reality. But it's certainly okay to imagine and wonder as well. Thee suggestions ahnd whims of thee mind hold equalle po-tent-ial to be created ahnd thus become the aforementioned reality itself, respectfully. respect is very important, people.
I'm still wearing my work shirt. It's just a t-shirt with a design and says "icecreamologist" on the front of it. That's pretty dumb. The job is good. It will get me by with ease. Adam's so fun. I like Aaron. This guy with funny-looking eyebrows came into work today. And I dunno, he was teasing/bothering us about something involving ice cream and then he said after a final chuckle, "Oh, don't mind me, I'm just a weird old man." I said, "You can say that again" and we all laughed and then he called me saucy or fiesty or something like that. Another lady had come in earlier that day and she was joking around with us and I said something I don't remember what and she said, "Don't you get smart with me!" and I said, "I can't help it, I'm just really intelligent." I think it had something to do with her wondering why they call this one ice cream "baseball nut." It was funny. Saucy Leesah.
Saucy Leesah with hair blowing in the wind behind the boat as she makes faces that Adam gleefully laughs at. I like that. My hair was being magical today. OK, this is my diary, this is what I write about. I didn't even know that it does that (my hair). It somehow turned out really manageable and probobly (that's a cool way to spell that word) aesthetically pleasing! I liked it, it hadn't been that good in a long time, and even after the gross lake water! Huh! Petie wanted her hair to behave (well that's a peculiar way to put it.. hair behaving? neato) more like mine. Well, I want my metabolism to behave more like hers! There are tradeoffs and everyone has their own assets and downsides, whether it is unfair matters not. Oh come on, I had to end this paragraph with a cliched and vague lecturely statment like that!
I have just been informed that "truck" is a euphemism for the "f" word. okay!
I want another jaw massage. Adam's dentist gave him one today during his appt. (that is a useful abbreviation, too bad I am defeating the purpose of it by longwindedly commenting upon it like that.. do you have to be talking/speaking to be longwinded? because i am just typing. can that word even be employed as an adverb anyway??). He demonstrated briefly (not longwindedly, heh..) on me, and it felt really nice. People have certain parts of their own body that they peculiarly like. For most they modestly (like Adam himself) say their eyes. I peculiarly like my shoulders, and the corners of my jaw on my face. I am proud of my neck, but that might be different. Anyway, Adam massaged the corners a little too. It felt so nice! I want to find me a nice boy to massage my jaw corners. Drop off your applications at the front office. har, har
I'm going to post one of my poems here tomorrow, if I feel like it. And tomorrow I am going to pick up my newly-developed pictures.
People neglect the eyelashes that are under the eyes.
I was just talking to Mattie online and she reminded me of the time at her birthday slumber party where Amy locked herself in the bathroom and passed notes under the door to us. LOL, seriously. It was so effing dramatic and hilarious, and it is somehow even sadisticially funnier that we were not amused by it at the time. She said she profusely missed California. Then later Kristine went off on a canoe ride with Kara and I assumed that she didn't want to be my best friend anymore and I cried and told Mattie and I hated her party and Mattie was hurt and we were all sad. It gets better, though. The fact, the promise and the hope that it gets better is the best part. There are lunches to make up during, notes to be scribbled during class and suggestive and apologetic waves in the hallway before Miss Kelley's seventh grade biology class. That morning of the party, as dawn broke since we stayed up all night, we all laid out on her dock and looked at the rippling clouds in the sky above us. We saw our names written in the clouds. That's what it comes down to, maybe.
I'm not sure, actually, though. I am very tired, as are these words. More when I am fresh, or refreshed. Sleep well.


leesah-likes at 12:42 p.m.

previous | next