remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2005-03-08

i fly out on delta

would you rather have your title and registration or know how to diasppear completely?
i changed a few things in my room today. and when i did, i noticed something on my door.
when we first moved here, i took the first few days off of school- maybe a week- in order to settle in. i set up my room. i hung my polson "p" with all its pins, i put up the poster showing the town of Polson, including the Driftwood. I framed a picture of me and Mattie. It's back and framed again as it should be. I found this poem in my papers, and i had hung it up on my wall. it was to help me with the transition, i think. i've been reading it a lot lately. like every time i leave my room (since it's on the door) when there's time for it (definitely not in the mornings!). the author, is unknown.

it seems wherever i go
people come into my life or go out of it
touching me where i feel
then leaving me only a memory
like gossamer fairy tales of children-
easily forgotten
and i wasn't through knowing them.

how do i know
who i am seeing for the last time?
how do you halt your life to gather
and keep all those around you
that you've ever known?
and how do you keep fairy tales
from losing their magic?

some come
brush against the walls of my life
and stay long enough for us to know each other
even though we'll have to part sometime.
and we both know
the longer you stay
the more i'll want you when you are gone.

but come anyway
for fairy tales are the happiest stories we read
and great books are made of little chapters.
and I wonder..if everything could ever feel this real forever, if anything could ever be this good again.

leesah-likes at 9:21 p.m.

previous | next