remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2004-08-19

hurricane

I keep reliving certain moments in my mind each night as I try to sleep. Dreaming brings me closer. I don't know if this is good or bad and I don't really care.

Amy is coming. I offer wholehearted yayness for that! She is possibly the funnest proposition of tomorrow. Anything else looks hopeless, especially with a ten to six shift. The fair, ugh. I think they have a parade tomorrow because of it or soemthing like that. That's ok. I'll deal. And the weekend off, hopefully spent well because the rarity of them along with their potential increases their value.

We stopped by the lake. The water was black and glistening. I was going to fall in. I was afraid.

hors d'oeuvers. I put two and two together (it might have equalled five...) and laughed about it nonstop for a while.

Also, I hate to sound like a parrot, but this must be noted for my own purposes. "How to Disappear Completely" makes (yes..) complete sense. It always has. I just didn't realize it earlier. All absolutes apply to this song, and the contrary.

Stupid personalized license plates. Edward pointed out one that said "FUNGSHEI" (yea, spelled just like that) and I spotted a "MU6NME." Don't tell me you don't get it.

Mom and I were listening to the works of Andrew Lloyd Webber on the way home, including "Phantom of the Opera." We ended up having a pretty good discussion, and I would like to think it pertains more to logic than feminism.

You see, "Phantom" is about a beautiful starlet opera singer who falls madly in love with the mysterious, dangerously scarred, and illegitimate outcast man who lives below the theatre or something. The female accepts him deeply and unconditionally, seeing past his unattractive identity to love his kind heart. This concept is all too familiar. Think "Beauty and the Beast." Or, "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" (is it dayme or dahm..?). It is a common and likeable idea.... at least until the gender roles are switched. No handsome and charming man ever picks the ugly wench who happens to be very charitable and of pure heart. This idea is perplexing, and probably further increases any disdain of males. But.. it might actually be just another one of those things to get huffed up about. Huff.

Sunshine was in Bozeman, it was actually quite hot. I like their downtown area a lot, and can appreciate signs like "Sorry, we're open." It was wet in back here, I am told. Wetness and fairness, sounds like a good combination for the production of badness. Now, goodness must be had.

leesah-likes at 11:56 p.m.

previous | next