remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2010-02-08

dizzy

stand right behind me, your nose close to my ear. i will cross my arms, and you can take my right hand in your left and my left in your right. then drop my right, and use your newly freed left to press upon the back of my right shoulder, spinning me out as my left arm unfolds, and yours does too, and i'm turning outward until we're holding hands at arms' lengths. and there is a moment of pause to feel that distance, before you curl me back into your chest, and we deftly trade off hands, and i spin out the other way. pull me back in, arms classically on shoulder, on waist, hands reunited, feet in step, mouths ajar in a constant state of something like laughter, even when we're not laughing. side swings here, feet out then back in again, and i am earnestly waiting for my next twirl, and you hold my hand up high in yours, and then you spin me, you free hand encouraging my back to revolve in motion under your touch. and this goes on and on with the brass blaring behind us, and i'm waiting, zealously anticipating, my next twirl, the spin, the dizzy.

leesah-likes at 12:02 p.m.

previous | next