remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2010-02-01

fresh feeling

Sometimes Petie sings songs to herself. And by "to herself," I mean for herself.

I would like to dedicate this song to me.

You don't have a clue,
what it is like
to be next to you.

I'm here to tell you,
that it is good,
that it is true.

Birds singing a song,
old pain is peeling,
this is that fresh
that fresh feeling.
Words can't be that strong,
my heart is real,
this is that fresh,
that fresh feeling.

Try, try to forget,
what's in the past,
tomorrow is here.

Love, orange sky above,
lighting your way
there's nothing to fear.

Some people are good,
babe in the hood,
so pure and so free.

I'll make a safe bet,
you're gonna get,
whatever you need.

That fresh feeling.
This is that fresh feeling

I'll make a safe bet you're gonna get whatever you need.

Senior year is tough because I'll likely never see the grand majority of these people again (unlike high school, we're you're bound to run into at least a few folks whenever you return home). And also, the future is vastly more ambiguous and heavy-handed; it's no longer, okay, I know I'm going to a four-year college, and it's gonna be one of these five, now which one? And to no longer have a roof guaranteed over my head, to be out on my own, no longer part of this small tight-knit community... oh man it's daunting. But I'll make a safe bet you're gonna get whatever you need. It'll work out. It HAS to. Worst comes to worst, I end up back at home for a year, before pouncing off again into grad school. I will will myself NOT to let that be a horrible experience.

I just want everything to work out, the way I want it to. I have dreams, ideals, for how I'd like it to go when I leave her. I have a scenario planned out in my mind. That sort of thing is dangerous, it just doesn't quite work like that. But it's inevitable, I'm reaching high, I'm hoping... what else could I do but this? It is in me.

I want to be excited, about everything. Not afraid or annoyed or untouched. Excited.
That fresh feeling.

leesah-likes at 12:35 a.m.

previous | next