remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2008-11-09

crestfallen

I can almost feel the decay.
It�s like shriveling. The edges are frayed and curling over onto themselves, and the moisture is rapidly, steadily, drying out. I vaguely sense it inside right now, getting tinier as it gets more arid, leaving a shrinking feeling that enhances the void between the core and the outside.
Now is, as always, a time for hope, for faith, for belief in the good. And it shouldn�t be too hard to feel those things, not if I allow it for myself. It shouldn�t even require effort. But I feel myself trying, and I feel the strain. I�m slightly afraid of what could happen if I stop trying, just worried about what that might feel like.
Things will, as always, be alright. I do this to myself. I�ll be fine. Inconsequentially, mostly, pretty much, might as well be, fine. Listen to good music, keep your chin up, and don�t yearn for anything ridiculous. Life is beautiful, without even having to try.

leesah-likes at 9:52 p.m.

previous | next