remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2008-07-01

ad vantage

The only perspective I can take is my own. I see through my own eyes, and the immediate sensory intake tells me that there is my self, and that there is everything else.

It is my superior wish, aim, purpose, mission, to transcend this immediate, ostensible point of view. I want to see beyond the view of my own eyes, want to broaden and expand and stretch to infinite perspectives.

I want to see outside of myself, which may be a physical impossibility to overcome the vision of my own eyes, but I will mentally strive for it, to take vantage points other that my own, to look in different ways with different eyes. To overcome my own pettiness, to serve a greater purpose, to not limit my identity to this transient illusion of a physical body.
Seeing only through these eyes, I feel it limits me and bounds me to my skin. I want to get beyond my own body, my own eyes.

It's in the mountains, in books, in the sky, in every one I meet- a new set of eyes through which I can behold the world.
It's summer, and I will not be limited by my own sight. So I'm going to hike through the mountains, read philosophy, observe the sky, and think carefully about the things my friends say. It's summer, and I will see beyond my self.

leesah-likes at 3:31 p.m.

previous | next