remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2007-02-28

uncapture/release

My head starts to hurt when I try to write something real. Something true.
And I realized today that I can hate the use of the word "capture" in regard to artistic expression. Capture a moment. Who wants to capture anything. Like when I housed a butterfly between my two hands curved together as an orb, and he moved within, his wings fringing my palms and dusting off. Let it go and hover free. Nothing has to be pegged down, it belongs in the air, fluttering.

That's the dilemma I have to face in regard to you; that I can't apprehend your warm restful breath on my bare back, the smooth presses of your air upon my skin.

It has to drift free. It must. It is a soft imperative, but the will of relaxation is there.
A world of limbo makes me have to be even more sure of myself during dynamic and oscillating experiences, from crest to trough of undulation. I drift yet hold my anchors.

I will go with the fluttering flow, thinking about my work the most.
I will not let what I can't apprehend become a source of apprehension.

leesah-likes at 7:01 p.m.

previous | next