remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2006-12-04

casablanca

And upon waking, it is all still impermanently there and about to slide off the wall of my memory but I want to suspend it and remember it not because it is right- it wasn't quite right but it was so beautiful. I can recall you in it and it is so vivid in the dream- words don't do it best because it is entirely visual there hanging in my mind, your face without every curve recorded because I already know it so well, it's you, it was you.
And you came to my house not this one but the old one and to not my room but another room, by brother's room but with a different bed and stuff and you were there, just you and me and it was just like always before until you felt that others were coming and you so wonderfully wanted it to be just you and me. And I don't understand it now but I remember it so clearly because I refused to let it leave me upon awakening. You insisted that we flee. That was the word that you used, that word "flee" and the word "Casablanca." I was so serene and I just followed you firmly and terrifically holding my wrist and taking me to there, this idea of Casablanca, this idea that we must flee. And I felt the marvelous thrill of being with you and us escaping in this rush. We came to a beach and we landed and we were together. I don't know how Casablanca mattered, yet I know it was integral. And I know it was you, I know it very well and I remember your unbounded glee of exhilaration as you pulled me away so we could be alone together again. And I am not going to think about any implications or underlying meaning, I am just going to happily enjoy the remnants of it and remember the look of joy on your face from being with me.

leesah-likes at 8:03 p.m.

previous | next