remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2006-11-24

"lightning"

I'm home. I'm in the house.
I'm being prolific. I'll report back later, but this is for now.

The lightning screams. It is desperate, it is fierce. It's the wimpering eyes of a beast, cowering yet vicious.

They watch as the horizon explodes with each strike.

Her elbows drill into the ground as she lays on her stomach and her hip bones also jut forward. The blanket is pink and he is not talking, he is watching.

"I know it sounds stupid," she remarks capriciously as another one jolts down, "but I didn't think that they could go horizontal like that."

Parallel to the ground. Connecting the clouds.

They light up the sky. Electrons are whirring, nitrogen abound, and rain can be seen afar in the mountains. It is tricksy when you can see the rain but not feel it.

"Do you suppose it could hit the lake surface?"

He looks at her a bit, as she is speaking. He offers gracious replies and poses some questions himself. About tomorrow.

Maybe it will storm again, and we could come back and watch some more.

"It could come back tomorrow. Perhaps it will."
"Are you tired? I'm not, really. This is all kind of exhilarating."
"It infuses a sense of energy in me, something that only the night can bring."

He agrees.

She offers a smile, and as he's almost admiring its curvature, another strike blasts in the distance and illuminates everything so he can see the line between her upper and bottom lip and the happiness within that crease.

"This is a natural phenomenon! Aren't you glad we're here to bask in its wonder?"

She started to recall an ancient Greek interpretation of storms, and he thought about it. Zeus could be up there right now. Tells us what to do next, Zeus.

When the rain got closer, she was ready to leave and so was he. They got in the car and the harsh consistent sound of the water against the metal announced that the storm was wringing itself out.

I am going to take you home. If you want to do something like this again soon, call me and I would like to.

"I will. Thanks for coming with me."

Yeah. And you were right about the lightning, and you're right about most things. Have a good night.


leesah-likes at 1:02 p.m.

previous | next