remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2006-02-26

be still my heart

The colleges look so nice on their brochures.
The sky is almost this artificial blue, but you know it's real. Just maybe a little enhanced.
What if things really looked the way that they look in photographs? If food was always shiny and steamy, intricately detailed, and grass blades look identical? And you could remove that mole mark from the face?
I like to mole mark. And the drab sky works right now.

I feel a bit exhausted; I feel drained. It's as though someone squeezed out a little of my leesahjuice and diluted me to fill up the volume.
I try to be sincere to all my customers.

There is a lot do to, and little is left for writing about myself of this blog. There will be more time and more artisitic energy to express later on. And yes, it's worth waiting around for.

things that have happened and not been documented:

I've told too many people about Chicago. Bad move. At least I haven't been thinking about it too much lately.
I think this would make a quasi-ideal prom dress. If only my body was bronzed from my skin being dowsed with warm, serene sunshine for endless hours. sigh.
I'm ready for what comes next. I need more sleep, and less time doing nothing. This is included in "nothing." That's okay.

Sleep is important. It can re-juice me or something. (How nutritious is leesahjuice anyway?) Losing consciousness results in rejuvination. To sleep, perchance to dream. To wish. Wishes are beautiful. Here's a version of my latest wish. See you when I do.

I was running late for work
So I didn't change my shirt
The evening's drinks left a lingering taste in my mouth
And when I left
You were fast asleep
Tangled in the sheets
And on the bus I could have sworn it was all a dream
And it didn't happen to me

And then I felt the scrapes
From the slippery subway grate.
Oh how you laughed
At my complete lack of grace.
But I could not recall
A more perfect fall
Cause when I looked up into your eyes
It didn't hurt at all.

And I thought, be still my heart
This could be a brand new start, with you.
And it will be clear
If I wake up and you're still here with me in the morning.

And I thought, be still my heart
This could be a brand new start, with you.
And it will be clear
If I wake up and you're still here with me in the morning.


leesah-likes at 6:54 p.m.

previous | next