remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2006-02-19

vital signs

I think I need more car rides where I can just look out the window. In the dark even, so that way I don't have the scenery to distract me, distract me from my thoughts.
As the tires spin and roll upon the road, my mind digests and processes my eighteen years. All the people, all the times. I relive them in my mind, remember all my senses have encountered. It's not even in some profound way. It's just thinking. Thinking about. Not judging or analyzing, just thinking about.
I'm slipping into obscurity, into silence. I'd rather think than do much else, but my thoughts are selective and therein lies a tiny predicament.

"Pulse"


these, these words
slither up my throat
and evade the mouth
rolling on
northbound to the brain
i see you present,
true and real,
to me; no one else.
a fiction leeching
to my chest
wanting to awake
but you are stuck, caught
in my neck
between heart and head.
quite the kept secret
and i yearn
whimpering inside
you coax me, whisper
in my ears
as deep digs deeper
i count my pulses
consuming
my absolution
yet await the sin.

leesah-likes at 9:19 p.m.

previous | next