remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2005-09-10

i can make a mess like nobody's business

... a good song from the band of that name:

Time goes by,
And we watch our lives,
As they're sadly slipping away.
Alone, we cry.

So follow that tune quickly
Or you'll lose the melody you never heard
When you were young you didn't care.
It's the one that stole your fathers pride,
That mighty mighty dollar sign.
These are the things that matter now,
So sing along and be...

Prepared to jump,
When the ship has sunk,
And you're slowly watching it drown.
Alone, you cry.

So follow that tune quickly
Or you'll lose the melody you never heard
When you were young you didn't care.
It's the one that stole your fathers pride,
That mighty mighty dollar sign.
These are the things that matter now,
So sing along and be prepared.

Maybe we, care about too much
Time we lost and in spite we run,
That night, but you know i'm wrong.

My windshield wipers sqeak a little as they whisk across the glass. John Mayer is crooning about love from the radio as the rain drops slip down the car windows. I inhale deep, then back out again.
Everything shifts a little, and change becomes an altered version of the previousness. Be steadfast. if it feels good and it sounds nice, don't doubt yourself don't even think twice.
I don't mind not telling people more about what's going on inside me. It feels fine. I love smiling and laughing, and sometimes I seem to try or pretend to be deep enough that I actually hit the bottom, I think.
I can't usually outright say that I love life. I just really can't. Sometimes, more often than people might imagine for me, I wish I just wasn't here.
my life is all for me.
so follow that tune, quickly or you lose the melody you never heard...

I feel myself. Here I am, and here I stand. You don't need to get it, and chances are you probably won't. But thanks for trying to be a part of it, I guess.
I press a little harder on the pedal, but lack the need for speed. It's gray out there, a light neutral white grey (yes with the two different spellings) that seems to not even be a color. Everything is shiny because it is wet. My hands grip the wheel and I know I am the driver. Don't look for some stupid metaphor.
It's time for work, the job will be over with soon enough.
Yes, it's alright to keep it internal.
No one needs to know anyway.

Follow that tune. :)

leesah-likes at 4:43 p.m.

previous | next