remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2005-08-29

a hypothetical never to be posed.

would i?
could i?

i lay there on the grass
the blanket sprawled out
sun shining deeply and warmly into my skin
hair flown
curved, soft chin nodding to the music

hypothetically him strolling through
thinking barely nostalgic
mostly concerned with himself,
as always

spot me lying there
memories rush back
as my face evokes
all that he realizes he has deeply missed
from his life.
my purity. sincerity. my joy in random and profound things in this world.

steadily approaching me,
his whale eyes gleaming deep
with regret and desire,
a reminder of all times we touched
as he scans my body in yearning.
reaches toward my soul with the utmost wanting
to graze against it as he had before.

and then to come to my side,
the person who is oddly familiar
despite the unfortunate half-year lapse.
to come to my side
and bring his own face to my own
as i numbly glance back at the surreality
nearing his lips to my own.

-----WHAT DO I DO?-----

give in?
succumb and relent
to the passion i had come to know so well
the fit that fits
the place that can exist
as we know from the past

allow the discrepancy
between our mouths to lessen
as i draw him in
and our moist mouths softly connect
?

No.
That would inexplicably be obliterating months of progress.
of established strength and independance
untouchable
even by his once beloved and sacred hands.
That would be choosing Us over Me.
Us has failed before.
The "Me" never has.
Because there is more to life
Than an antiquated and nostalgic romance
Of the primier touching of a virgin heart.

Allow me to turn over
And let the other side of my lovely body
bask in that golden sunny warmth
As I let this hypothetical situation
Be released
And listen to the beautiful pound
Of my headphones into my ears,
Playing the harmonies I can swell to
In my joy.
It'll never happen.
But at least I know my decision.
No.

leesah-likes at 11:44 p.m.

previous | next