remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2005-03-29

scraps

What do pigs and flamingoes have in common? They are both pink. Think of five more creative similarities between the two and email them to me for a treat. Clarissa, you are exempt!

There was once a pregnant lady whose husband was driving her ot the airport in a hurry because the baby was quickly on its way. He took a sharp turn when he was speeding and the lady flew out of the car. This isn't morbid. Everyone was ok. True story.

I know "all good things must come to an end," but damnit it why? look back. it was great.

A Ukrainian man who was about 50 once went to the doctor for a checkup. The doctor raved to the man, lauding his excellent health. The patient, content, left the office and upon reaching the sidewalk, instantly died.

A rich old woman once took a 100-dollar bill and wrote "if found, please return to.." and then picked a name and a number out of the phonebook. The person never got called.

M dad's favorite song is "Runaway." I fogot the name of the guy who sings it. "I why-why-why-why wonder, why..."

Everyone is a poet in their own rite.

People say "left-hand side" more commonly than just "left side."

Corona beer is a sure shot.

Today I had a feeling on my lips that I really wanted to kiss someone. But it kind of sucked (Haha! no pun intended!) because no eligible boys were around. Damnit James. I'll write more about him later when it doesn't sound like some dumb form of gloating.

There once was a nice Delta service lady named Lucille who lived in Atlanta and upgraded us to first class on the next flight out after we missed our connection. We didn't realize the magnitiude or significance of the favor because she didn't tell us what she had done, just that it was "all going to work out." Mom says it means something that she didn't tell us what she did for us and just let us figure it out for ourselves. I agree, it does mean something.

Tell me your name, tell me your story, cuz i'm into it... good song but elefant, "misfit."

I bet getting stuck in a lawn chair is really embarrassing.

I think I am going to make a special page on here for my entire spring break vacation. I've been pretty lousy at documenting it, but i havea good memory.

Baba-Vala (Valentina) was once proposed to by a man in Ukraine, but she declined and now cites his horrendous acne as one of the reasons. That man is now a professor of linguistics at Harvard.

Another thing about her: my father once inquisitively asked her as a young boy why he had brown eyes when both of his parents had blue eyes, and she has contorted that to my dad quesitioning if she is his true mother. Yes, she is very old and bitter at times. She has beautiful silver hair and likes to eat at Red Lobster.

I saw the full moon over the ocean. James and I also saw a ghost cloud. (allow me to clarify: a cloud that looks like a ghost.)

After Edward got Alida a necklace that was supposed to be a surprise, he just had to call and ask if she liked turquoise and sterling silver. She said yeah, but I like diamonds better. Funny girl.

I met a fat, stout Colombian waiter who would jump up behind me each night and scare me as I ate.

I have developed an affinity for manatees.

And there's no blame for how our love did slowly fade. And now that it's gone it's like it wasn't there at all.

I've held a seashell as big as my face.

I didn't find my soul, but I'm ok with that. I do't even know how interested I am in loking for it.

At one of the shows on the cruise, there was this guy singing and vigorously moving his hips. Then he paused and gestured to a random woman in the audience and said, "no sweetheart, my eyes are up here."

we went to Subway here in Florida and they had their own version of the Kaleidoscope! It was called "The BeachComber."

In the dining room, Baba accidentally sat down at the wrong table. It was a good laugh.

A frog jumped on my leg and I freaked out and started running around. That was a weird reaction for me.

I dreamt about my friends from Polson the other night. Sami, Andrea, Emily, Lindsy, and Robby were all there. We played softball and then went back to my old house. I miss Kristine. And Ben, of course. Always Ben!

You are more likely to win at tictactoe if you get two corners. Let that be your goal.

I have good analogies. The water bucket and pie are my favorites. Ask for clarification if you want it, but know it's about me and my situation.

In 3rd and 4th grade, my friends and I woudl go around Sami's house singing a song I made up called "I Like to Eat Garbage."

I've been taught that they have vanilla flavored toothpaste. Sweet remnants, not minty ones.

When landing, it felt like a needle was impaling my ear. Tears were streaming down my face. It was embarrassing but it hurt so bad.

Oh, Baba told me that old people say that crying is good for you because it makes you pee less.

that's all i can scrap together for now. welcome home, leesah. i anticipate the future.

leesah-likes at 10:03 p.m.

previous | next