remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2005-01-22

thousands of words

I've been a little bit bored today, but in a very good way. Finals are over with, and that feels great. I remind myself of it every once in a while and this tranquil feeling of relief rushes over me. Now is the longest possible time before I will ever have to do that again.
I'm quarantined at home until I clean my room. I'm already half done. I feel like a lot has happened to me in the time frame of only a couple weeks. That was a lot of different experiences that I've had, even in just the last day. It's a little exhausting.
Whenever I do try to clean my room, I end up stalling and getting distracted by something that I find. Sometimes it's old writings or drawings. This time it was pictures. They are fun to share, so I will. When I look at these pictures of my past, I like noticing the smaller details, and they help remind me who I am.

In my room with Heather our next-door neighbor, and Elena is in her lap. My mom used to call her (Elena), "my little butterball" and I would laugh because it was fun. I must have been about seven. I liked to read and wear ribbons a lot, this one reminded me of Mickey Mouse. My parents surprised me by putting those Beauty and the Beast stickers on my wall for my seventh birthday, and a new bike waiting for me in my room. I slept under a kitty blanket and an ikon. I liked to stick out my tongue during pictures (we have several account of this) and am actually doing it here.

I am with Max, our first dog who was a black lab and very cute and obedient. My mom would tell me to wake up and feed him sometimes, and I would do it in my dream and think I had actually done it. We are at my house in Polson that I lived in before moving to Aspen Lane. Elena's toy is the the background. So is Flathead Lake. I really miss that. The garden is weedy because mom didn't like to tend to it very often. I am wearing jelly sandals, some of my favorite that my mom bought for me to take to girl scout camp. You can wear them while swimming.

My ninth birthday party was also at that house and with Sami, Andrea and Amy for the sleepover part. There are swan heads sticking out of the snow and a thermometer bobbing in the water. Amy and I thought we were pretty cool. She was holding up the peace sign, we would laugh about how dumb that is today. She would kiss Max on the mouth and I would laugh really hard about how gross is was. She was really comfortable with dogs, she still has like five. Sami wanted to program a light switch in her bathroom that would make animal noises when you turn in on. Andrea (blonde) and I used to play this game called salt-and-pepper where you would jump across the beds when someone says "pepper" but jump up and down on "salt."

Mitchell likes his birthday parties at Caesarland. When we go to Michigan in August, it's always the most opportune time to celebrate this birthday. That's just the way it works out. The hat on his head sings, you can guess what. Edward is wearing a shirt from some obscure bad. I am wearing the sunflower bracelet that my grandmother gave me and Quinton is just to my right, you can barely see him.

I'm excited for the rest of this school year. I know it's going to be really fun and I plan on learning a lot. This half is over with, I'm trying to leave it behind. No one should scoff at this, but I'm pretty sure I got a B in English. I'm thinking of how to react to the situation in the best way. I don't mean like crying and stuff, but what to take away from it and how to measure my success. It's ok.
I like all these pictures, they were a good find. Maybe I'll discover some more now, because I am going to go finish cleaning.

leesah-likes at 1:04 p.m.

previous | next