remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2004-10-20

dadface

I was/am an interesting child.
"Reverie" (with a ^ over the first "e") is a beautiful piece of music by Claude Debussy. My piano teacher thinks it's really interesting that I find the most challenging part of the song to be the easiest. I'll tell you why it's the easiest part for me- I'll tell you right here. My left hand, the bass clef, the weakest, plays d-a-d-f-a-c-e. dadface! Who could forget that? Sometimes I really wish I was more brilliant. I figured out how I learn piano patterns though. It's a weird concept to notice and be aware of your own learning style. Learning- the actual act- is very interesting. To think of all the new synapses and axons connecting to dendrites up there..! Learning is so incredibly fufilling. I wish I could feel it. Anyway, I learn musical patterns with my fingers and ears in a very odd way. This is all so subconscious and subtle that typing it out makes it seem definitive and such, but it's really not. I learn by sortof assigning or considering each note/key its own identity and personality, depending on how they relate to each other. That E is kinder, while the G comes in and takes over quickly followed my its fellow the A. This is a poor example, and it truly could not be expressed or communicated in any narrative. It's just odd, and it is what works for me. Yep, that's right. dadface.
Got my school pictures today. Had to go to the journalism room to get them, that teacher guy asked me in a peculiar way why I wasn't on his newspaper staff. He's desperate, and has every right to be. The paper sucks. Oh yeah, the pictures. I'm so bashful over stupid things like that. I shoved them in my backpack without looking. Got home and showed them to Mom, knowing the inevitable gushing. Oh Lisa, you look so beautiful! Your eyes, your hair! This is not indirect self-flattery, it honestly bothers me. The only good part is when she goes to replace all the old ones in the frame around the house. You see, she lets them pile up behind each other each year, the most recent on the very front so you see it through the frame. I probably just explained that very badly, but still. I can admit I was really cute in 4th and 5th grade. I am not cute now.
Oh, since we already talked about dadface, let's discuss momface. Well, sortof. It's my attempt at being fair and balanced. My parents took a portrait sketching class together in college after they got married. My dad advanced at it a lot, and Mom still tries once in a while. She'll do a pickup sketch of me that looks nothing like I actually do, but it's amusing nonetheless. I wish I could.
Cannery Row is my favorite book right now. Despite the lack of substantial female characters and my aversion to Steinbeck, the book is really good. Reading it for English class makes it less incredible- I would have rather have discovered it for myself, but I know I never would have. Things are like that sometimes. Yep, I'm being broad and general and metaphorical or something like that. But still. I like reading it. It sounds good aloud too.
I have quattro days off. I want to sip up every second as if this time will be a steaming liquid of the most scrumptious flavor. I think you know the flavor, the taste. Let's hope so.
Doesn't "mache" as in "paper" have a ^ in it? I thought so. Maybe.
I had darn well sleep good tonight. No reason not to. We don't need to discuss this. I love dreaming. I need to catch up in my journal, I usually write when there's something really good but gee gosh where's the time?!
I'll be right back. I think there is something I want to add to this. Oh, if I don't, then I apologize for the lame conclusion.

leesah-likes at 9:15 p.m.

previous | next