remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2004-08-05

for what reason

Another one, you've come to the write place. I do tire of this band, don't doubt me. Some of the wailing parts got stuck in my head on the way home. But this song, I like it. It's particularly fun because you know the guy singing is pissed off. Come on, just look at the words. Something about infidelity, obviously more than perturbed. I personally think the climax is the "cinge your skin" line, it's my favorite and I sing it randomly/whenever. But the way he sings it! Oooh, he's all nonchalant and so oxymoronically emo-ish about it, I can barely sense any evokative tone at all. Definitely worth listening (under scroll down to "we have the facts and we're voting yes" CD title) to, because it's fun to hear repression in the face of anger. Unless one is the subject undergoing such, of course. Then it all changes. Whatev, here's the song.

"For What Reason" by Death Cab for Cutie

this won't be the last you'll hear from me:

it's just the start.

i hope that he keeps you up for weeks

like you did to me.

i will hold a candle up to you

to singe your skin. [awesomeness!]

brace yourself:

i'm bent with bitterness.

when your apologies fail to ring true,

you're so slick with that sarcastic slew

or phrases like 'i thought you knew',

while keeping me in hot pursuit.

tracing the plot finds

skin touching skin,

abscence follows, in the end,

i win every time as ink remains.

sour tastes prevail

as you play back the tape machine.

Nothing applies to everything. I am resolved to never be able to choose between Darcy and Bingley, so I'll take them both. Comrades are good, you alls. I had a troupe of friends called the "All"s once, actually. "Amy-Lindsy-Lisa," as it were. This is only worth mentioning to myself, but thanks for stopping by nonetheless. Enjoy it, enjoy it all.

leesah-likes at 8:52 p.m.

previous | next