remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2004-05-13

in this nineteenth hundreth hour

Here I sit upon this nineteen hundreth hour, prepared to tell you the adventures of this Thursday, May the thirteenth.

Today I had an eye appointment. My pupils are still large from the dilation at this time and I am enjoying it. My eyes look beautiful, when I speak to your they are these shining ebony marbles with a slight ring of aquamarine that are ready to lovingly receive you.

The optometrist, Nick, was very nice to me because I was very nice to him in a happy-go-lucky sort of mood. I showed interest in his profession and I think he liked that. Nick let me trade places with him and let me check out his iris, retina, and nerve with the machine thing. He couldn't adjust it for me because he was in the other seat, but he thought I could figure it out. I couldn't. So I pretended.

"Oh, that's your iris?" .... "I see it, that's pretty cool"... I think I sounded sincere but was possibly aiming for his left cheek. Maybe he noticed. Oh well. All was good.

And then I picked out a pair of specs, the plastic frames. I vow here that I shall forever wear these thick glass frames, even when they go out of style.

I know what I have written so far makes my day sound pleasant. It was actually anything but. *Cue creepy music.. dun-dun-dun!!!*

My mom and I are very strained right now. I don't want to write about the whole episode because I really don't think it's worth it. But hear this part: she is being completely unfair and untrusting, especially considering that I am her daughter. I tried to explain to her how trapped I feel, but these efforts proved fruitless. Tears were shed and lunch absolutely sucked.

Then during biology class, people sitting across from me started sending over happy notes to cheer me up. I think that was a very nice gesture and it reminded me that this world does not completely suck. Yeah, you heard me right.

This world does not completely suck.

leesah-likes at 7:00 p.m.

previous | next