remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2008-01-07

american beauty

"...it's hard to stay mad, when there's so much beauty in the world. Sometimes I feel like I'm seeing it all at once, and it's too much, my heart fills up like a balloon that's about to burst...

...and then I remember to relax, and stop trying to hold on to it, and then it flows through me like rain and I can't feel anything but gratitude for every single moment of my stupid little life."

I don't remember the last moments I had with you, but I'm sure I could canonize them in my mind, if I could remind myself how we parted. But I don't recall us saying goodbye, with the staunch realization that we don't know the next time we'll meet again. Life is pulling at us, we think, but I think you're tugging at it too, restlessly, hungrily, and it's inspiring me to do the same, even if I find myself yanking farther from your company.
I won't forget the warmth of the grey and the way it penetrated my heart. Being home was a marvelously refreshing shower- clean, clear water gently rinsing away my residue. I've come clean, sprite skin and crisp eyes. But before I find a way to write the poetry of my soul, I have to live my life, and bask in that beauty, here in America.

leesah-likes at 11:36 p.m.

previous | next