remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2006-05-11

drinking

I feel like many complicated, boring things right now. Overall though, it all boils down to being ambivalent and all-encompassingly ugly. Neither of these things are good for me right now. I need to find a way to stop. I need your help, but I don't know how or who to ask.
Besides that, I wish I could just be kind and appreciative. If only it could be that simple.
Then maybe beauty and clarity could come.

This one is a day-old. I'm going through a syllable era, so I'll have to forgive myself but still love my poetry because it says it well in my own language.

"Drinking"
I drink you in.
Little sips
As my lips
Touch the cup.

It's like a sin.
To just look
Glances took
Silently.

You fill my eyes.
Pupils gaze
In a haze
Of wonder.

You quench my thirst.
Flavor true
Tasting you
From back here.

I can't get close.
You're not there
Wouldn't care
About me.

You don't know me.
We've not met
I regret
Not speaking.

I have my life.
You have yours
Cares and bores
We don't mix.

Tomorrow comes.
I won't think
About my drink
Delicious.

You look past me.
Onto her
In a blur
The hope fades.

Mouth on the glass
Take you in
A good sin
Gone soon though.

Swallow it down
And fade out
In the doubt...
...Cheers, to you.

leesah-likes at 9:57 p.m.

previous | next