remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2006-01-01

rabbit rabbit rabbit

Today is my biggest reminder of Time.
I think about time a lot, but perhaps more today than ever. Today is the first. The first... everything!
And New Years is fun because it is a dual holiday, both a remembrance of the past and the celebration of the future.
In recollection, I see my months of the past year evolving. There was a constant flux- the surrealism of March, the brightness in July. Feeling like my mind is underwater, my jaw tingling with a blissful smile, my tense shoulders on an early morning. All like vines crawling upward.
...And of that in prospect: No one really knows what 2006 will bring. Stuff works so out differently than what I think will happen. It's both exciting and daunting. I'm not going to be here. I'm not going to be swimming through these worlds we create for ourselves, our own little realms of contentment (or at least the pursuit of it). Well, not this world. The axis and orbit will change.
Resolutions are funny things, these promises we make to ourselves.
There's still a long stretch ahead. My head hurts when I think too much, and I have a lot going on.
Here's to ushering (that's the awesomest verb) in the new year. I feel good; I feel me. No guarantees or promises, except maybe a vow of truth to self.

leesah-likes at 7:54 p.m.

previous | next