remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2005-07-15

summerness pics (updated! yay!)

random summerness pictures. must get ready for work. will explain/add later.

this is me sitting at the table with some friends. They are really nice. We decided to get a group of girls together and go to the park for the day.

We ate brownies (warm and yummy)

this is a picture my friend Thoma$ took of the sunset from Foys Lake. I took some of West valley, my favorite place to watch the sunset, but they turned out bad, probably because i used a disposeable. I love sunsets. They are so brilliant and serene, different yet wonderful every time.

my friends play frisbee with me at the same park where we did the girl day. we have fun, we play ultimate or pass it in a circle. i love these people.

me with adam and dan at the chalet. that place was the destination after a four mile hike up! i shall return. they're great.

me with dad and brother, the two major male figures in my life besides my friends. we are at universal studios in orlando, florida.

we layed in the grass and sunbathed. soaking up the rays. it was my idea, of course. i love it. i'm glad they enjoyed it too.

i took this picture of myself. i like noticing the details. i made that necklace out of african beads. there is a cool ribbon in my hair!

me with my best friend, we are peeking as you can see. boo!

me with my best friend's best friend, catlin, at prom. we are goofballs. she has the best "bOW!?" face i have ever seem. cool, kindred spirit with a deep and sincerely fun heart.

ahumm hello! this is one of leesah's stupid faces, alloO! i like hippos

..more to come!!!

...well, once i pick up the next roll on monday maybe...

Today this couple came into my work to get some ice cream. They were younger, and I somehow think it is notable that they were both dark-haired. Whilst I was washing my hands in the back sink, the woman came up to me and whispered, "hey, would you please put this in my husband's ice cream?" it was a card from a playing deck of cards. once he ordered, I stealthily stuck it in there. When I handed it to him, it took him a moment to notice it (i have this theory that men are less observant..), but when he did, you could see his whole self just pause for a moment and look at it with a smile on his face. It was the five of hearts. He turned to his wife and hugged her, held her. They stood there just hugging for a while. They then went to eat their ice cream outside, on a bench. He got out a camera and they took pictures of each other. I would glance through the window.
What did the five of hearts mean to them? Was it the card itself, had it somehow brought them together, some twist of fate, or some motivating impetus, a coincidence, a commonality? Was it their anniversary of five? Years (they looked young for that)? Months?
It essentially doesn't matter. He was just so happy to have his arm around her, to click the camera and capture the face of the woman whom he so apparently loved. She was proud of the handiwork, had gratefully thanked me. I was all too happy to be involved.
Romance has its place, even in my life. Whether it be in speculation and or whim, or the fading memories thereof. There is always a little wonder, a supposition to be had. Love feels best when it is shared and reciprocated. There may be no one, but there is the sweet dream of someone, sweet and hopeful. Naive perhaps, but only in the best sense of the word. I know, I believe, that someone's lips will grace my own once more. It is only a matter of time. Yes, romance has its place. Someday I'll have my own version of the five of hearts.
the moon is milky tonight. it is growing. it is hiding and peeking, luring from behind the clouds, stirring, suggesting. live. be, do, think, experience.
oh crap, i forgot to return that ten-day library book.
Johnny Depp is kind of annoying. I hate how he always wears makeup, and his giggle was dumb in this movie. Sleepy Hollow was cool, though.
i wish i could have gone swing dancing tonight. i love the twirling. i wonder.
The beautiful and endearing hope remains. This is summer. It is light cotton fabric, sandals, browned and shiny skin dotted with tiny bites from mosquitoes. It is laughing and whispering on a hammock, careening down a river on a tube, and finding joy in helping others do better. Summer is awesome. Have a good one.

leesah-likes at 6:40 p.m.

previous | next