remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2005-05-01

may you

I am getting better about being comfortable in my own skin. I don't know how to elaborate on that.
Today I played folf at Lawrence park and got an (un)impressive score of 75. Then on the drive home I stopped at Tidyman's and got a chocolate chip muffin. I did this because I could.
When I was little, I used to live in an apartment building. My parents used to own a few complexes, they were landlords. But we lived in them too. And on the other side of our building there lived a man named Mr. Doolittle. I remember one day, it must be about 11 or 12 years ago on this day, I realized it was May Day and was young and sweet enough to understand the implications that came with such a quasi-holiday. I plucked some dandelions out of some nearby yard and made my way over to his (Mr. Doolittle's) door. Then I rang his doorbell and plopped the handful of dandelions (flowers, if you will) on his doormat. As I watched his doorknob turn, I began to frolick (hey, I was a little girl) back as I gleefully shouted, "HAPPY MAY DAY!!!"
Well, to make a short story a little more brief(er?), Mr. Doolittle didn't appreciate my act of kindess and he complained to my mother about her daughter throwing weeds on his doorstep. What a tattle.
May is pleasantly sweet. Not like candy though, and only barely like that rockin' jimmy eat world song (it becomes more applicable as dusk approaches). May is sweet like the traces of honey you can suckle out of wildflowers, like the taste of skin that's been out playing in the grass in the afternoon. Like a simple glance that you can make out to be even more when you think about it in your head. Sweet. It's the end of the springtime-rhyme: "..bring May flowers." A reminder to use manners. You may be a part of my May. In fact, I would love you to be. Roundabout sweetness.
I have a cutie pie list in my mind. It keeps me busy and fun.
I am glad to be un-sad.
I don't think I have wasted any time.
"The stars are out tonight, and you're the brightest one shining in my sky." I need someone to look at the stars with, it's not the same as by myself. I'm feeling pretty romantic at this given moment. How many people are kissing right now? Gazing into each other's eyes? Saying deeply and truly, "I love you"? When will I be one of them again...?
May you be with me?
p.s. my pronouns don't mean anything that i know of.

leesah-likes at 7:27 p.m.

previous | next