remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2005-02-21

hearty

what if i didn't know you, what if our lives never touched? of all the people and all the places and times and worlds- i am here, and there you are. i owe someone, something, a hearty thank-you.
one news headline reads "JK Rowling Names New Baby Mackenzie."
the only thing in my life that i have to worry about, at all, is what college i am going to go to and how i am ever going to pay for it. that's comforting, right?
i haven't been to speech for a few weeks now. it's over. last night i slept deeply. i dreamt i won the championship. they sent it in the mail and my name was at the top of the list. it felt so real. maybe some other time. i must remind myself there is more to come. it's just not right now.
"What is the matter that you don't speak to me?...I'd be better satsfied if you would talk to me once in a while. Why don't you look at me and smile at me? I am the same man: I have the same feet, legs, and hands, and the sun looks down on me a complete man. I want you to look and smile at me." -Geronimo, Apache chief, to Crooks, American general.
I know it could be disrespectful and wrong to compare my life to the anguish and turmoil of Geronimo's, but sometimes I feel like this and I want to say it to people I know. Why don't you look at me and smile at me? I am the same as you. Sometimes people forget this. Including me, I know. a hearty embrace.
I'm currently reading Middlemarch, by George Eliot (which is a pseudonym for a female author). The entire first chapter described these two orphaned young lady sisters. The language was so different back then. Someday I'll provide examples.
Sleep is probably necessary or something like that. I've been educated about the circulatory system. if you have any questions, just ask.

leesah-likes at 9:31 p.m.

previous | next