remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2004-10-23

deep thoughts

For mad scientists who keep brains in jars, here's a tip: Why not add a slice of lemon to each jar, for freshness.
I hope they never find out that lightning has a lot of vitamins in it, because do you hide from it or not?
If you had a school for professional fireworks people, I don't think you could cover fuses in just one class. It's just too rich a subject.
He was the kind of man who was not ashamed to show affection. I guess that's what I hated about him.
If you're a cowboy, and you're dragging a guy behind your horse, I bet it would really make you mad if you looked back and the guy was reading a magazine.
It makes me mad when people say I turned and ran like a scared rabbit. Maybe it was like an angry rabbit, who was going to fight in another fight, away from the first fight.
Why do the caterpillar and the ant have to be enemies? One eats leaves, and the other eats caterpillars. Oh, I see now.
Love can sweep you off your feet and carry you along in a way you've never known before. But the ride always ends, and you end up feeling lonely and bitter. Wait. It's not love I'm describing. I'm thinking of a monorail.
I bet it was pretty hard to pick up girls if you had the Black Death.
I wish I would have a real tragic love affair and get so bummed out that I'd just quit my job and become a bum for a few years, because I was thinking about doing that anyway.
What am I afraid of? I'll tell you: a feather. that's right, a feather. How could anyone be afraid of a feather, you say. That's an honest question, and I'll try to give it an honest answer. First of all, did I say it was a poison feather?
If you're a circus clown, and you have a dog that you use in your act, I don't think it's a good idea to also dress the dog up like a clown, because people see that and they think, "Forgive me, but that's just too much."
Whenever I hear the sparrow chirping, watch the woodpecker chirp, catch a chirping trout, or listen to the sad howl of the chirp rat, I think: Oh boy! I'm going insane again.
If you're ever stuck in some thick undergrowth, in your underwear, don't stop and think of what other words have "under" in them, because that's probably the first sign of jungle madness.
Whenever you read a good book, it's like the author is right there, in the room, talking to you, which is why I don't like to read good books.
-Jack Handey

leesah-likes at 12:49 p.m.

previous | next