remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2004-05-10

sickly or homely

I em homesick. Correction: home sick. I am at home. But I guess one would be able to be at home and still homesick. I know it's possible to get sentimental like that.

I was sitting in I.T. E this morning at 8:07 and I thought to myself admidst a severely painful stomach cramp: "Will I be able to make it through six more classes like this?" eh, nope.

Mom, Elena and I went to see the Alice in Wonderland ballet in Bigfork yesterday. It was different than I expected. The chesire cat was really good. They were selling decorated ballet slippers. I bought one and I really like it.

I think my dream of being a ballerina will never fade. I forsee myself pitifully tip-toeing around in a tutu in 30 years from now during a mid-life crisis. And then I'll fall and hurt my ankle; my still-dashing husband will come to my rescue and remind me all the great things about the person I became: a successful and caring doctor who is admired and respected by every one in our pleasant community, alumni of prestigious universities, and the love of his life.

Gorp was there too. At the ballet. I was a bit taken aback by his presence at first. It was hard to forget that there he was, seven rows in front sitting next to who must be his mother as she held a video camera. Who was she taping? His beautiful ballerina girlfriend, of course. Why else would he be there? Shouldn't he be drumming the bongos at our church or fixing his dredlocks?

If I just lost you, which seems unlikely since you are me, I'm sorry. I'm being too pessimistic about him anyway. Do I really want to write about him?? Maybe now isn't the time. Let's just say that I have a full-on infatuation with a guy I've never even muttered a word too. He's completely wrong for me, yet I can't help myself. I don't know how better to explain. I wrote a poem about it, but Walt Whitman's is much better than mine. Hey cool I made a link!

I'm starting to think about all of the things I want to buy with my first pay check. Greedy I know, especially considering that I've only been to work about three times. But this is exciting! I'll go ahead and be a scrooge by writing down everything I want here so I remember: an exploding dog or toothpaste for dinner tshirt, those cool bracelets in Bigfork, something from the buckle, headbands, buttons to randomly sew on shirts, a deathcab for cutie or pedro the lion cd, and maybe eventually even this ... this is getting too long. I'll add more later.

Still barely homesick. I know I must return tomorrow. Hey, the mail just came. I'm gonna go check it out. I really love The Postal Service.

leesah-likes at 2:48 p.m.

previous | next