remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2009-12-31

winter love

My love is true and real, to me. It's winter. Holidays make it feel like it's supposed to be something, like there are these inflated expectations, and sometimes that just makes us feel lonely, and the only thing we really want to do is silently curl up with someone, feel their warmth, have their presence. Breath, and heat on skin, both peaceful and singular. This love, it's nestling here inside me: a swell of promise, sweetness, softness. It's true, I am alone. But I have this love.

oh, let's go roaming in the fallen snow
and you look like an eskimo
in that winter coat.
soon we'll kiss
lying on a white blanket
you look like an inuit
and i like you in it

even though your family is sitting by the fire
i want you to myself
even though your family is singing christmas carols
i want you to myself
tell them we're not feeling well

angels bloom, right beneath the glowing moon
let's go build an ice igloo
and i'll lay there with you
there's no saint bernard, to bring us barreled brandy, love
so i brought a bottle of, and we'll warm up our blood

leesah-likes at 3:51 p.m.

previous | next