***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2013-10-25

it's me, not you

I had a dream about you last night, so vivid

I can't get it out of my head, how it felt to be known and loved like that

How can you feel like someone "knows" you so well
When it's been so long since you really "knew" each other
and so long since you've last talked

It must be a delusion
Because the you in my dream was really me in my brain
And I know myself better than you know me (right?)

I'm filling in the blanks, the pauses, the absences; I'm wearing rose-coloured hindsight glasses (as we are so wont to do)
But even if I'm aware of my delusions, I still don't feel their fallacies, just like how we know the earth is spinning.

I am missing the way you made me feel.
But I guess what you could really say
is that I'm missing that about myself.

leesah-likes at 9:08 a.m.

previous | next