remove ad

***

leesah-likes

(a memoir)

#09

2010-12-18

scanner's prayer

I think it is beautiful that some people you can choose to love, and with others you have no choice, you just have to. There are so many things that are special and important about both of those types of love.

There's a lot to say. My laptop's broken though, so I'm writing this from my office, and I don't want to stay here long.

I'm heading westward again with two of my good friends. Haven't been home in an entire year. Back to Montana, the house, my friends from high school. Haven't seen my dad or brother in half a year or my sister in a couple months, so that should be good too. So much has changed since I've been back, since I've seen my family. You notice the transformations in yourself, when you return to a familiar place and find yourself somewhat different.

It's going to be a long drive. I feel pretty disconnected from Julian and Petie, and I think that's ok. We're just in such different places right now, and don't have the same needs of each others' friendship. But this will continue to evolve, throughout the years.

I'm going to miss Philadelphia, I know it. But mostly just Ryan. I will be back pretty soon though.


It's cool that I'm at the point where this amuses me.

Our scanner, which art from Siemens,
Hallowed be thy coils.
Thy data come;
Thy scans be done;
In grey matter as it is in white matter.
Give us this day our daily blobs.
And forgive us our trespasses,
As we forgive them that trespass onto our scan slots.
And lead us not into the magnet room carrying a pair of scissors,
But deliver us from volunteers who can�t keep their heads still.
For thine is the magnet,
The gradients,
And the headcoil,
For ever and ever (at least until we can afford a 7T).
Amen.

leesah-likes at 12:19 p.m.

previous | next